Crazy, Seedy Vegan Bars…


IMG_2803

These bars be seedy.  Crazy, Seedy.  Seedy like that bar your mom told you not to hang out in.  More specifically, so seedy you probably don’t want to eat them in public without a mirror.  After eating the first of these bars, I turned to my man and asked him if I had anything stuck in my teeth.  He kind of cringed in disgust since I literally had a seed stuck in every single one of my teeth.  Attractive! But they’re good.  Ohhh so good.  

Ingredients:

  • 1c. popped amaranth*
  • 3/4c. unsalted pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4c. hemp hearts
  • 1/4c. chia seeds
  • 1/4c. sunflower seeds
  • 1/4c. sesame seeds
  • 1/4c. flax seeds
  • 1c. dried cherries or fruit of your choice
  • 14 dates, pitted and soaked
  • 1/4 c. unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 c. spelt flour
  • 1/2 c. agave syrup
Preheat oven to 350F.
Add flour, amaranth and all seeds to the food processor and pulse until you combined. 
Add coconut, dates, cherries and agave and process on low until mixture begins to come together and fruit is mixed throughout and broken down.
Line a loaf pan with parchment paper and pour mixture into pan.  Mixture will be seedy and crumbly but should stick together when you press it down into pan.  Press into pan very firmly and bake for 25 minutes.  
 Let cool nearly completely and turn out on a cutting board.  Don’t worry if you lose a lot of seeds when you take it out of the pan or slice the bars.  You can always stick em back onto the bars.  Individually wrap bars in saran wrap.  Bars will firm up more as they cool and will keep up to a week.
*This was my first time using amaranth and I didn’t bother popping it all.  I did pop *some* of it, and then I kind of lost patience with it.  I like the crunchy, nutty un-popped texture of it this way, but if you have a lot of time and don’t mind shaking a pan over the stove for a millennia, feel free to fully pop yours.  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, check this out.
**Another way I really enjoy eating this bar is crumbled up on top of my plain yoghurt with some honey drizzled all over.  Give it a try and let me know how you like them!
2 thoughts on “Crazy, Seedy Vegan Bars…

Leave a Reply

