Rainy June Days and the struggle for motivation…

Well, I haven’t written too much here lately.  And I don’t really have a good excuse.  But my lack of enthusiasm for my blog unfortunately extends to the other avenues of my life, and I’ve had a hard time motivating myself to do much of anything since being back in Canada.  I think part of the problem might be the weather.  I was really looking forward to the beautiful June that I know, here in the Canadian Prairies, and since being back, it’s done nothing but rain.  We’ve had the odd sunny day and I’ve relished them.  The best day was when I could take my bike out of the garage and do my usual summertime toodling around town.  But those days have been far and few between lately.  In fact, there has already been the total monthly average of rainfall and it’s only half way through the month.  

Anyway, I don’t know if it’s the weather, or the difficulty adjusting to “back home” life or what, but I’ve been a bit down in the dumps lately.  This eventually culminated in a fantastical two-day meltdown.  First I was bitchy, then I was miserable, then I sort of fell apart there for a bit.  But the good news, is like most meltdowns, I felt better afterwards.  

A lot of it was due to the fact that I had all these massive creative outpourings of ideas while I was away and once I got back, it seemed so difficult to put anything together to fruition.  I didn’t feel like doing anything.  But, thankfully, my husband put me back together, got my head straightened out and made me go shopping for yarn and crafting things so I could get started on a few of these projects for my future shop.  Then there was about a one week burst of creative output.  I started making some things.  I practiced the ukulele a lot.  And then it sort of fizzled out again.  Now I’m just trying not to force it.  Trying to sort out my brain a bit and figure out what is going on and just let myself do what I want to do.  I’m trying to focus on just letting things happen as they happen a bit rather than trying to control everything.   Today that involved baking Sourdough Onion and Cheese loaves.  Recipe forthcoming.  

Another factor of the bad weather is that I’ve been stressing out about how much money we’re going to make this summer and if we’ll make enough to do what we want to do etc.  Rainy days mean no money.  We work outside, and at a farmers market and people just don’t come around when it’s cold and rainy outside.  From the 22nd, we are starting a ten-day event where we will be outside from morning till evening, working long days.  Last summer it was our biggest money-maker of the summer.  It remains to be seen what will happen this year, but as I said, I’m trying to focus on not trying to control things and if there is one thing I *know* I can’t control, that is the weather. 

Whatever should happen, will happen and if we have to make adjustments to our plans because of unforeseen circumstances, then we will do so.  God knows, it won’t be the first time this year we’ve had to make massive changes to our plans.  Anyway, I will try to post more now that I’ve been back a month.  Thanks for sticking with me!

xo

2 thoughts on “Rainy June Days and the struggle for motivation…

  1. I totally understand the negative impact of the weather. We have had a nasty very wet April, May had some heat for a couple of weeks and now all of June has had torrents of rain and cold enough to put heat on! I hope things get better for you and that your manic ten days pay off!

    • Thanks Gilly! Where are you again? I think the weather has been wonky all over the world lately. I hope we are at the tail end of it. I’m ready for some summer!!

Leave a Reply

