Adjusting to life back “home”…

Haven’t felt like writing much lately, to be honest.  I guess I’m slowly adjusting to things here and sometimes our travels feel like a million miles away.  SK is treating us well so far, but the first week was a bit rough.  I had this ideal vision of what it was going to be like when I got here, the sun and the beautiful summer and riding my bike around everywhere.  But instead up until a few days ago it’s been mostly rainy and very cold.  Going from an average of 40c for six months, to between 6c and 8c, takes it’s toll emotionally and I was feeling pent up and feeling a bit of the post-trip comedown.  But finally, the weather got better and I took a gigantic walk, stocked up on a bunch of my vegetarian cooking accouterments (nutritional yeast, Braggs, miso, tahini-you know, those kinda things!)  Bought a used juicer from a local gal as I could not dig mine out of the garage no matter how hard I tried to look for it, and things are looking up!

It’s been hard to reconcile all my creative dreams I had while I was gone, with that person that I am here and now.  It’s a lot easier to get these amazing inspirational ideas when you are travelling and constantly being inspired.  But luckily I wrote them all down so now it’s just a matter of making a bit of disposable income to put those ideas into action! I have a friend who is a great graphic designer and she is going to help me with my logo and new website from which this blog will eventually be linked…talk about a LOOONG work in progress, but for now, it’s all about baby steps: getting acclimatized, cooking again, trying to get into a proper sleep schedule (can you believe I am still waking up at all hours of the night?!) and just getting into the groove of living in my in-laws house for the summer, which has it’s own whole set of ups and downs.  

All in all I’m very fortunate, don’t have much I can complain about, and we are already planning our next trip abroad which will hopefully be in the fall, pending savings.  

As well, it’s my father-in-laws birthday tomorrow and I’ve promised to cook everyone a Thai dinner based on what I’ve learned during my cooking classes.  We’ll see how that goes.  There’s a bit of a difference between cooking on a propane tank outside in a metal wok and cooking indoors on an electric range.  But I’ll take some photos and share some recipes very soon.  I also have some left over straggler photos from the end of our trip and M’s birthday in Seoul, etc.  Thanks for sticking with me while I make this “transition”.  My thought patterns tend to be even more erratic than usual and I waffle between being “over” and “under” whelmed.  Looking forward to some tasty (hopefully!) Thai food to refresh my dulling tastebuds! 

x0

Leave a Reply

