Dalat and Heart Attacks and How much I love Vietnam…

(journal excerpt: February 21, 2012-Dalat, Vietnam)

We left HCMC yesterday in the early morning and caught our bus around 8am.  The bus ride wasn’t too bad and took about 8 hours with a break for lunch.  We climbed a lot of narrow windy mountain road with the typical third world passing of the traffic in the oncoming lane on the blind corner but it still wasn’t as unnerving as similar trips in India or Malaysia.  A lot of the landscape on the way was quite pretty with coffee and tea plantations and colonial architecture left over by the French.

IMG_2209

IMG_2202

IMG_2214

I think we passed a church every kilometre or so.  I don’t know why I never realized last time how many Catholics live here! We eventually made it to Dalat, where it was cloudy and misting rain and walked to find our guesthouse, avoiding the touts who were waiting for us as soon as we arrived.  We found it, eventually, after I handed M the map (I’m starting to realize I’m not so great at map reading)!

IMG_2218

IMG_2216

Our room is quite big with heavy wooden furniture, two big wooden chairs and a coffee table.  Flat screen, fridge and hot water with french doors that open onto a beautiful balcony for only $14.  Man I love Vietnam for the quality of their accommodation.  You just cannot compare the value to anywhere else in SE Asia.  But by the end of the day I had come to love Vietnam for so much more. 

After hanging out in our room for a couple of hours, and resting from the long bus ride, we began to think about dinner which made me think about my day-pack and how I needed to reorganize it and stick the camera in it to take out with us, as is our routine.  That’s when I realized I didn’t see the camera bag anywhere.  This camera, the one that I’ve blogged about buying, splurging on, spending a big chunk of coin on, the camera that I’ve taken all these past photos on that you’ve seen on this blog, was gone. 

I immediately asked M if he could see the camera bag and the freak out soon commenced.  Once we started to realize the camera wasn’t in the room, my heart began to race and I felt sick.  M was livid.  Not at me specifically, (it’s me that carries the camera case, he carries the laptop-it’s our deal) but at the fact that the camera was gone and he feels like, “…stuff like this…” always happens to us.  But all he could say to me, was, “well, it’s gone”.  I racked my brain trying to figure out where I could have left it.  On the bus we attached the strap to the back of our seat so no one could nab it from under our seat, we are that paranoid.  In fact, I am always obsessively careful with the camera and knowing where it is at all times so I could not believe this was happening.

I must have left it on the bus, but that seemed so crazy to me.  M would have had to step over it just to get off the bus from his seat and there was just no way he would have missed it.  After checking downstairs with the hotel lobby, as I thought I may have left it down there, it slowly started all making sense.  When the bus arrived, I was a bit distracted.  We pulled in at the station and there were already touts waiting to talk to us as we got off.  I HATE this part of travelling.  They were pulling our bags off from under the bus and I was keeping my eye on what was going on there while thinking about the directions I had to the guesthouse and carrying a couple other plastic bags and things.  We got off the bus and grabbed our packs, pulling them to the side to put them on and adjust them for the ten minute walk uphill to the guesthouse.

During this, the touts starting talking to us, asking if we wanted a day tour, seeing if we had a hotel booking-I was tired and frazzled and we wanted to get out of there quick.  I left it on the bench with all the touts.  There was NO WAY it was still there.  But we had to go back to check anyway. We left to head back to the tour company’s bus station.  I wasn’t crying yet, but I was definitely hyperventilating and I felt like throwing up.  I had already started considering if we would be able to buy a replacement camera on this trip or if that would be it for travel photos. 

On the way to the tour office I went over the possibilities a thousand times of what happened and none of it made sense but I started thinking about how much a  local person could sell the camera for and how much it would compare to a monthly salary here and how a local would consider it to be a totally replaceable item to a comparatively wealthy tourist and well it wasn’t looking good. 

We went into the hotel at the tour office but she led us to a small booth adjacent which seemed to be where the tickets were sold.  The hotel woman talked in Vietnamese to the man and I frantically explained in English.  He began to look in  a box under his desk and handed me a notebook and asked me to write today’s date and my name.  I didn’t really understand how this was relevant but I did what he said.  He asked me for a description of the camera and case and just as he was asking me to sign my name in the notebook, I saw him pull up my camera case from under the desk.

My heart leapt up into my throat.  That’s not just a cliché.  That actually happens.  I could not believe what I was seeing.  The camera was turned in!! I practically left over the counter and hugged him while he sat dumfounded and stiff.  I was crying in shock and happiness as I thanked him.  M shook his hand, equally shocked but far more composed than I.  I mean, the camera was gone and I took it on 100% as being my fault-it was my responsibility, despite the fact that M didn’t blame me at all.  The relief and surprise were overwhelming.  I was so blown away by the kindness and honestly from someone who had so much less than us.  Even if a tourist handed it in, the staff could have kept it and said they never saw it.  It was unbelievable and I am still in shock.  All we read in guidebooks and web forums is how much theft there is in SE Asia, particularly Vietnam.  Lately we’ve seen a lot of blogs where people have been complaining of how much they hate Vietnam for its dishonesty and scamming. 

Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty of that too, and I’ve been ripped off a few times since being here but this has given me a big reminder to never underestimate people and never to generalize.  There are good and bad people everywhere and we were very, very lucky the right people were involved in our saga but I know one thing for sure-I will NEVER say anything bad about the Vietnamese people.  Thank you Vietnam!

I love you!!


12 thoughts on “Dalat and Heart Attacks and How much I love Vietnam…

    • We really like it a lot. It is our second time here and I would totally recommend it! I have read a lot of bad stuff about people complaining about Vietnam lately and how many problems they’ve had here but we find almost everyone kind and smiling. Of course there are scams and inflated prices for tourists and touts, particularly in the cities but we’ve travelled the country north to south and we really liked it! Let me know if you need any more info!

  1. Jen, I’m so happy happy happy that you got your camera back. I was experiencing every emotion as I was reading your blog and knowing exactly how you were feeling from having lost special things that were near and ear to my heart! What a happy ending to your story!
    xo

  2. Wow! And my comment was going to be if you can’t read maps but you sure take super photos. Carry on loving Nam & It’s on my to-do list for sure now. Good on ya!

Leave a Reply

