Back in Kuala Lumpur…

Petronas Towers-Kuala LumpurPetronas Towers-KL

Back in Kuala Lumpur now after being in Cherating for probably around ten days.  We decided to make the trip back to the city so we could have a Xmas dinner that didn’t consist of rice and noodles (I know, we are so spoiled).  Doubly spoiled actually because we were welcomed by a surprise email from M’s aunt telling us to go out for a Xmas meal on her and she would pay us back! Very excited, we arrived back in KL at about 6pm on the 25th, checked back into our regular guesthouse and went to the Marriott as I had previously heard they were having a buffet Xmas dinner.  Buffets are always better for us since we don’t eat turkey.  There are usually a lot of options compared to a meat based set meal that is wasted in us.  Not surprisingly, the Marriott was all booked up, so we went across the street to the very grand looking Grand Millennium.  We had a huge buffet meal for about $30/person including dessert buffet that had more than enough options for the fish-eating semi vegetarians we are.  Although I have decided to give up most seafood once we are done travelling, I have to say, the oysters on the half shell and the sashimi were exceptional.

Bungalow in CheratingBungalow in Cherating

We are now working out our next move, but we will most likely stay in KL for NYE and then either go back to Cherating (we’ve made a good friend and M is hooked on surfing) and then head to Singapore for a few days before flying out to Bali, or go directly from KL to Singapore. 

Kampung Baru-Kuala LumpurKampung Baru-Kuala Lumpur

I’ve finally figured out how to compress photos on Iphoto so I have uploaded some more onto flickr.  Since I was having such a problem uploading them before (20 photos would take about an hour and a half on the public or paid computers here), I have become a bit discouraged with both taking photos and uploading them.  Now that I’ve figured this out, you should be seeing some more, and I will try to make my posts not so text heavy as I know that can be super boring!

Hoping all of you had a warm and happy Xmas and a fantastic new year.  I am thinking a bit about “resolutions” if you want to call them that.  I know a lot of people are anti New Years resolution, using the argument that you do not need a certain date to start something new etc.  While I totally agree with this, I do like Chris Guillebeau’s perspective.  He uses the end of year and the one coming up to reflect on past goals, set new ones for the future and examine what went right in the past year and what went wrong.  I think everyone could use an annual review and I will be working on my own.  Pretty difficult given my current transient state and not having any idea where I will be next week, let alone the next year, but no matter where I am, I believe personal goals can be set that will involve a more internal management.  What do you think? Happy New Year to my few but growing readership!

xo

4 thoughts on “Back in Kuala Lumpur…

  1. Thanks for taking time out to share your thoughts and photos-both are thought provoking.
    I think NYResolutions have come to be an accepted way to cop out. After all, how many folks freely admit to setting then forgetting them?
    I subscribe to the annual review/next year goal/s-setting. Recognizing obstacles & barriers, assets & supports. Reasonable goals, time frame, monitor, review, repeat. I’ve used it in my work, now I use it for myself. Helps to measure personal progress.
    Location can impact goals. But if what ones’ shooting for is an internal locus of control (as I am) rather than being buffeted by external forces:employment, people, issues; perhaps it won’t matter so much where I am geographically, rather where I am in the continuum of my personal plan. Goal #1: Be a much better friend to myself.
    Happy New Year }

    • I think the problem with New Years resolutions is it’s kind of setting ourselves up for failure. When we don’t meet these grandiose expectations we place on ourselves, we feel like crap and wish we had never done so in the first place. See the article I posted today that speaks more of this. I think it’s better to do more of a “review” and honestly look at what worked and what didn’t and do more tangible goal setting for the next year with a plan on how to follow through. Yay self improvement!!

Leave a Reply

