Buttercup Squash Zucchini Coconut Curry Soup

Alright, another recipe here.  As a preface, I will warn you that this blog is will be adapting a bit according to my life and what I am doing at the time.  Right now I’m throwing on a few recipes, but come November, or end of October, this will probably be more of an observational travel journal as I won’t be doing any  more cooking and will be on the road!  I hope to bring some photos of food, markets and meals that I am having as well as still keep up some of my philosophical/spiritual observations/growth, but we will just have to see! In the meantime, I am trying to do as much cooking as possible given that I’m not in my very own kitchen and even though we are still getting a lot of the summer heat here, the end of August has meant the arrival of some of those fall type veggies at the Farmers Market.  Enter-the humble Buttercup Squash.  In truth, I have made this soup in various incarnations many times over the years, but this is my first time to  use a Buttercup Squash.  I was just drawn to it at the market and decided to try it.  They really are quite pretty and look like a kabocha or an acorn squash but with an added bellybutton bump on the bottom.  The taste is even sweeter and creamier than a butternut squash making it a perfect soup squash but you can really use whatever squash you want in this and I’m sure it will turn out great.  Zucchini are also in abundance at this time of year so it’s a good opportunity to get an extra veggie in your diet.  You can leave out the zucchini or do squash/carrot as well!

Recipe:

  • 1 medium-sized buttercup squash (cooked and cubed)
  • 1-1/2 c. peeled and cubed zucchini (I used yellow)
  • 1 small onion diced
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 4 c. H2O
  • 2 instant bouillon cubes (I’ve mentioned what kind I use in previous posts-look for an all natural yeast free bouillon with no additives or MSG)
  • 3 heaping tbsp. Santan Instant Coconut Powder
  • 1 heaping tsp. ginger powder
  • 1 heaping tbsp. curry powder
  • 2 tsp. salt (or to taste)
  • extra water to thin
  • olive oil

Directions:

Cook squash either on the BBQ or in the oven.  I cooked mine on the BBQ this time because it’s hot here and we were using the BBQ anyway.  Cut in half, take out the seeds and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Throw on a dash of olive oil and put it face down on a cookie sheet or pyrex oven dish with a bit of water on the bottom.  Cook at 375F for about 30-40 minutes or until squash is very tender and soft. Set aside.

In a large soup pot, add a generous glug of olive oil and heat over medium heat.  Add onion and garlic and saute until golden.  Add cubed cooked squash and raw zucchini.  Continue to stir occasionally until zucchini is cooked through (about ten minutes).

Add water to pot and bouillon cubes.  Stir until cubes are dissolved and remove pot from heat.  After soup cools down a bit, transfer in batches to a food processor and blend till smooth.  Transfer back to pot and put on low to medium heat.  Add curry and ginger powder and finally the coconut cream powder.  If you don’t have coconut cream powder, you can easily use tinned coconut milk and then you probably won’t need as much water to thin out the soup (if yours is too thick).  I like coconut cream powder sometimes because if I don’t need a whole can of coconut milk, it is more convenient to store the powder.  That being said, if you have leftover tinned coconut milk, it freezes very well in a ziplock bag and you can add it to soups and curries as you need it.  Add any additional water you need to thin it out to the consistency you wish.  Add salt and pepper to taste and that’s it! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

