Planet Organic’s Cosmic Cookies

DSCN4873 by jennpeters

Here is another one from Planet Organic.  I was attracted to this recipe because the cookbook said the Edmonton location sells over 1500 a week! I don’t know if mine turned out as good as theirs do in the store (I’ve never had ’em), but I do know that they were a great cookie to take camping, they were gone very quickly and my friend is now asking for the recipe to take back with her to NYC.  Plus, you feel like you are eating some healthy and therefore can justify eating maybe more than you should 🙂 Oh and I got to try spelt flour which seems to taste little different from using regular all-purpose flour but is apparently better for you or something.

Recipe:

  • 2- 1/4 c. quick oats
  • 2 c. spelt flour
  • 1 c. sunflower seeds
  • 3/4 c. + 2 tbsp. pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened coconut
  • 1/4 c. flax seeds
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 2-1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1-3/4 c. dark chocolate chips (I used milk choc. cuz that’s what I had)
  • 1-1/4 c. raisins
  • 1/4 c. H2O
  • 1/4 c. molasses
  • 3/4 c. canola oil
  • 1 c. soy milk (I used almond breeze) 

Directions:

Mix together all dry ingredients in a bowl all the way up to raisins.  Mix wet in another bowl.  Add wet to dry and mix until just mixed and don’t over mix! Bake at 350F for 24 minutes.  I believe the book tells you to measure out the cookies with a 1/3 c. measure.  I would suggest flattening them down a bit before you bake them so that they bake evenly.  Voila!  (I’m obviously summarizing the cookbook version a bit but cookies are pretty easy to make, no?) Anyway, I’ll definitely be making these again.  Love ’em.

Leave a Reply

