Goji Berry and Vanilla Bean Scones!

This is a recipe adapted from Jean Pare’s “Company’s Coming” book: Muffins and More.  These books are a staple in most Canadian households (my mother-in-law has at least 20) and their recipes are pretty fail-safe.  You can’t really go wrong with scones in my mind, especially when they are fresh out of the oven with butter and jam, or toasted.  I’ve only made one attempt at this recipe so far so please see my notes below for improvements I would make for next time.

Recipe:

  • 2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 heaping tsp. ground whole vanilla bean (apparently this is called vanilla powder-i just don’t like wasting the whole pod)
  • 1/4 c. butter or margarine, cold
  • 1/2 c. goji berries
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 c. milk
  • granulated sugar for sprinkling

In large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and vanilla.  Cut in butter until crumbly.  Stir in goji berries.  Make a well in the centre.  

In a small bowl, beat egg until frothy.  Stirl in milk.  Pour into well.  Stir with a fork to form soft dough.  Turn out on lightly floured surface.  Knead 8-10 times.  Pat into circle and cut into pie shaped slices.  Transfer to greased baking sheet.

Brush tops with milk and sprinkle with sugar.  Bake in 425F oven for 15 minutes until risen and browned slightly.  Serve hot with butter and jam.

Things I would do next time: In the original recipe from the book, it tells you to divide the dough into two 6-inch circles and cut into six slices each.  This makes for very small scones as shown in the photo above, hence why I recommend that you just make one big circle.  Also, I would recommend when you pat the dough down, before sprinkling sugar on the tops of the scones, poking in any goji berries that stick out too much.  Much like raisins, they will burn easily when exposed to too much heat and become bitter.  As you can see from my photo above, there are a few darker than I would have liked 🙂 Let me know if there are any other improvements you would make! I am not a baker, and my recipes are always a work in progress!

2 thoughts on “Goji Berry and Vanilla Bean Scones!

    • Thank you! I like to tell myself that the supposed health benefits of the goji berries, outweighs the white flour/butter/sugar issue! 🙂

Leave a Reply

