Spicy Laksa Soup!

This is one of my quick and easy go to recipes for Laksa. Laksa is a spicy noodle soup that can be found in Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia. I honestly don’t know how authentic it is. The whole time I was in Malaysia, I was talking about how I wanted to try laksa but then we got hooked on the South Indian thalis and that was it. I couldn’t stop eating Indian food. I definitely have to try it next time. I’ve made this a few different ways depending on how much time I have. Sometimes I’ll add fresh chopped lemon grass, birds eye chilis and kaffir lime leaves but basically it just depends on what I have on hand. This is a pretty versatile recipe that can be customized in spice level and to your taste.

Also-I’m not a complete vegetarian but I don’t eat poultry, beef or pork. This recipe would probably be just fine with any of those things. If you eat seafood, prawns are nice and this recipe includes tofu but also non-veggie stuff like fish sauce. S’all up to you.

Here’s what you will need:

  • 4c. H20 + enough Veggie bouillon powder for 4 c. of water. If you’re using liquid veggie stock, you need 4c. The kind I’m showing here takes 4 tsp. to equal 4c. of water. More on veggie bouillon below.
  • 1 pkg. Thai Red Curry Paste
  • 1/2 tbsp. Fish Sauce
  • 2 tsp. palm sugar (brown sugar is a good substitute)
  • 2 boiled eggs, halved
  • 1/2 block fried, puffed or extra firm tofu
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • Limes
  • Cilantro
  • 1 pkg. rice noodles

Any other ingredients you might want to add-bok choy, spinach, bean sprouts etc.

Veggie bouillon-I’m kinda picky about bouillon cubes and powder lately because it seems like every brand has MSG in it, something I try to avoid.  The brand that I’m showing here doesn’t have MSG or Autolyzed Yeast Extract, which as far as I can tell is another form of MSG or has MSG in it or something.  It also has real pieces of stuff in it, which makes me happy:

Heat up the stock in a large pot and add the red curry paste.  If you want it to be less spicy, don’t use the whole package.  I’m a spice fiend, so I use the whole package.  Stir till dissolved.  Add the fish sauce and sugar and then the coconut milk.  Soup should look something like this:

While you are cooking all this goodness up, start boiling a big ol pot o’ water for your noodles.  When the water is boiling you want to throw in the noodles, stir to separate and cook them until just tender.  These type of noodles do not take a long time to cook so watch ’em because they get gross and mushy when overcooked.  I always under cook them just a bit because I figure the broth finishes them off when I put it all together.  Drain ’em and rinse ’em in cold water but don’t completely chill them or it will make your soup cold!

Cut up all your other ingredients while you are waiting for your noodles to cook.  Cube the tofu, slice the limes, chop the cilantro and any other ingredients you are using.

Put a bunch of noodles in a bowl and pour some stock over them.  Arrange the ingredients on top and that’s it!

Again, my crap camera doesn’t really do it justice, but trust me, this is sooo good.  If you have any leftover noodles, rinse them in cold water till completely cold and store them in the fridge with a bit of water in the container to keep them moist.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

