Recipe: Tassajara Yeasted Bread

This recipe is from the Tassajara Bread Book. As this is my first recipe post, I thought I should let y’all know a few hints when it comes to following my recipes:

-I do not claim to be a chef, baker, and certainly not a photographer
-I have a point and shoot that I hate and look forward to the day when I can buy my Canon Rebel. Please excuse any blurriness/bad lighting etc
-I rarely follow a recipe exactly and will include any modifications

So! On to the Tassajara Bread book. I was initially inspired by Tassajara’s Composite of Kitchen Necessities, copied out here and have had the book for while now. This was my first recipe I tried from the book. The recipe makes four loaves which is enough for a monastery but too much for my house of two. I split the recipe in half, making two loaves and froze one after it cooled down. The recipe below is the full four loaf one as exactly written in the book:

Tassarjara Yeasted Bread

(the fundamental Tassajara Yeasted Bread recipe-four loaves)

1.

  • 6c. lukewarm water
  • 2Tbsp. yeast (2 pkgs)
  • 1/2-3/4c sweetening (honey, molasses, brown sugar)
  • 2c dry milk (optional)
  • 7-9c whole wheat flour (substitute 2 or more cups unbleached white flour if desired)

2.

  • 2-1/2 Tbsp salt
  • 1/2 c-1c oil (or butter, margarine etc)
  • 6-8 c. additional whole wheat flour
  • 2-3 c whole wheat flour (for kneading)

(ed. note-I would just like to point out that the version you see in the photos below did not include dry milk, only because I didn’t have any.  The sweetener was honey and the oil was canola.  I used no white flour.)

Dissolve yeast in water.  Stir in sweetening and milk.  Stir in whole wheat flour until thick batter is formed.

Beat well with a spoon (100 strokes).  Let rise 60 minutes.  Fold in salt and oil.  Fold in additional flour until dough comes away from sides of bowl.

Knead on floured board, using more flour as needed to keep dough from sticking to board, about 10-15 minutes until dough is smooth.  Let rise 50 minutes.  Punch down.  Let rise 40 minutes.  Shape into loaves.

(ed. note-I should point out it as at this point that I strayed away from the recipe a bit.  I decided I wanted stuff *in* my bread and so I mixed in chopped figs and walnuts into one loaf and mixed seeds (flax, pumpkin, sunflower) into the other one)

Let rise 20 minutes.

Bake in 350F oven for one hour.  Remove from pans and let cool, or eat right away.

NB: If I could have done one thing differently with this bread, it would have been to grease the pans, use parchment paper-anything.  For some reason, perhaps I didn’t knead in enough flour? this bread stuck like crazy to the loaf pan and I lost quite a bit of it getting it out.  Any ideas folks? I am open to all and any suggestions as I am a novice bread baker.  That being said, this was amazing with butter right out of the oven and made fantastic sandwiches for days after.  Froze well, but molds quickly, due to lack of garbage ingredients/preservatives.



 

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Tassajara Yeasted Bread

  1. re the loaf panz.. grease them, then lightly dust them in flour? it works for cakes, might work for loaf? donno, not sure…..
    ❤ your blog ❤ u
    🙂

Leave a Reply

